Running… ….. well it’s something not very common thing for Indians. We simply run. And we run late most of the times. I am an accidental and seasonal fitness freak, which means physical activity is not even last on my list of priorities. I have just two states, I am fit or I just don’t fit in anything.
Being on the treadmill feels like Everest summit. First two minutes the flag is fluttering high and suddenly there is an urge to just run, of course it’s not on it but away from it.
I have tried every trick of the trade. Right from buying MP4 to matching time with the hunks, alas nothing pushes me to move on.
While I was whiling away my time on the sweat machine, one cannot help but notice these perfect ladies. All fit and happy.
It took me no time to join the band wagon of these chirrupy females. The gym is a place to explore. But one has to muster all the courage to be shameless and ask for help.
These butterflies were not new to the system. They seemed to have what it takes to be in that dreaded room. Well I am a woman and felt the women power. So I just took the leap of faith and let myself be drenched in this new sweat room.
So the beats go 123 up 123 change 123 left 123 right and repeat and change. Suddenly I looked down and two left feet were staring back at me . I still tried. My brain was following the instructions and my eyes were chasing the instructor. She was very fast and another lady in front of me was wee bit slow. So I loved her. I followed the fellow lady. I did well. Suddenly there was a short circuit. My gaze was fixed and my brain, definitely it was not working. I went 123 left 123 right and then a small pause lead to a temporary halt. I was a tree now. My feet were glued. I was thoroughly embarrassed but still ๐Ÿ˜ฉtried. The rhythm feels excruciatingly painful.
The only person concerned about your bad performance is you and then the instructor.
She did her best to encourage and engage my mind and body. But if the wiring is different It just cannot be done. I repeated the same single step for 45 mins. I was exhausted and happy that I bathed in sweat. I never felt so clean and light. The calories had just left me.

But was I ready to come back tomorrow. The answer was NO.
Soon I see another door opening and what I saw my eyes could not believe. Trust me, excess is shocking and exciting. And sweat in excess is Nirvana. I knew where to go now. The board read “Spinning Class”.

Was I ready to come back tomorrow? The answer was positive.

PS: Lehakoe is my gym in Maseru, Lesotho. It means Jewel in Sesotho.

7 thoughts on “Lehakoe…..sweat makes you shine

  1. So well written,Archana! ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€ And heartfelt!! Waiting for the spinning session write up!! Especially since I tried the same place ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

